Hotels in Philippines
Popular Places
Best of Philippines
Special Interests
Food in Philippines
& Festivals
Travel Tips
General Info
Weather Check
Currency Converter
Time Zone Converter
Language Translator
Stock Index
About Us
Contact Us
Join us
Reservation Terms
Site Map

General Info
Economy l Geography l Government l History l Language l People l Religion

Government and Politics

As suggested by its name, the Republic of the Philippines practices the system of a democratic republican state and a presidential form of government. The government of this island nation is headed by a president that is elected by the voters for a six-year term. At present, Joseph Estrada has been chosen by the Filipinos as the President of the country.

The administration of the Philippines is divided into 16 regions, 77 provinces, 67 officially chartered cities, 1,540 municipalities, and 41,935 barangays. Every province consists of a provincial capital and several municipalities. Municipalities are sub-divided into village communities (barangays), which is the smallest socio-political unit headed by an elected 'barangay captain'. In this country, the legal system is based on Spanish and Anglo-American law.



Home l Places of Interest l Outdoor Travel l Food in Asia l General Info l Entertainment
Shopping Asia l Special Attractions


Australia l Bali l Brunei l China l Hong Kong l Japan l Korea l Macau l Malaysia l Myanmar l New Zealand
Philippines l Singapore l Taiwan l Thailand

Copyright © by Hotnet Sdn.Bhd. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
Copyright and Disclaimer l Privacy Policy